Quest in Roots:
Brookdale Manitoba History

This page is an extract from the full Quest in Roots history book. You can purchase a CD
copy of the book online. The CD copy includes all pictures, maps and other information. The CD will be mailed to you anywhere in the world for a cost of $14.99.
This page includes only the text of the selected article.


The 4-H Club, formerly known as the Girls and Boys Club, goes back to 1946_At that time, the girls took a three year sewing course. Mrs. A.W. Moffatt was one of the first leaders. A few early members were Donna Ames, Kathleen Dennis, Isobel McLeod, Kathleen McLeod, Sheila Mitchell and Mona Swanson.

In 1957, the club was reorganized under the 4-H banner. The local club was named "The Brookdale Busy Fingers". There were 48 members over the next five years, led by 15 leaders. At this time, the club started attending a regional rally at Portage la Prairie, always a hectic day with a parade of clubs, judging, demonstrations and public speaking.

In 1963, the number of 4-H projects available was expanded so a new name was chosen, the "Brookdale 4-H Variety Club". Present day projects include: clothing, handicrafts, home nursing, babysitting, foods, photography, adopt a grandparent, junior leaders, home away from home, electrical, mechanics, woodworking, leathercraft and conservation. In the 1981-82 year, the club had 21 members and 12 leaders.

In 1967, our centennial project was the painting of the Community Rink with paint donated by the U.G.G. Elevator Company. Members, leaders, and parents turned out with paint brushes and ladders.

The club has sponsored a foster child, assisted a 4-H club in the Caribbean, the Neepawa Van for the Handicapped, the Lion''s Telethon, the Brookdale Good Neighbors and two local young people requiring extended medical care.

The club is now part of the Southwest Region.

On regional council, Helen Mitchell was president one year. Sandra Dennis, Cathryn McLeod and Susan Jones were district representatives.

Girls receiving gold watches at regional and district levels were: Geraldine Mikkelson in 1965, Beverly McDonald in 1967, Lenore Jardine in 1970, Linda Dennis in 1975, Betty Mitchell in 1978, Sandra Dennis in 1979, Karen McKee in 1983, Darla Yarych in 1984, and Nancy McKee in 1985.

National awards have gone to Linda Dennis who went to Toronto in 1978, and Sandra Dennis who went in 1979.

Leaders serving 10 years or more are: Mrs.

Pickup, Rose North, Evelyn McKee, Helen Mitchell, Betty Clements and Isabelle Bonnett. Joyce Dennis and Eleanor Swanson were leaders for nine years.


Article Index

This history book has been digitized by

For information on having your area history book available online
and available for puchase on CD, please contact us.