This page is a text version of the History of Portage la Praire and Surrounding District. You can get a PDF copy of the book on our full version page. The PDF copy is an exact page by page representation of the original book. This text version has been reformated for the web and contains text recognition mistakes. These mistakes do not appear in the full version. The full version also includes each image in the original book.

Page Index of A History of Portage la Praire

Previous - Page 49 or Next - Page 51

Having sown the Mission farm at the rapids, I had a good stock of grain, which enabled me to be liberal to the most needy of the settlers, and children who were attending school.

In the spring of 1852, though flood had deprived us of many of our resources, I was still able to extend sufficient help to keep the needy in their houses, and turn their attention to the cultivation of the soil.

This spring I furnished them with a liberal supply of seed wheat."

This foregoing not only depicts the problems of the times, but the dedicated, unselfish kind of man tha t Archdeacon Cochrane was also.

The settlement was saddened when he passed away Sun., Oct. 1st in 1865 at the age of 70 years, for surely he was the founder of the settlemen t and one of the leading archi tects of what we have today. The settlers had looked up to him for many years, not only as a clergyman but as a legal adviser, medical assistant and good farmer as well.

With the passing of Archdeacon Cochrane, the original settlers who had come with him followed the path that they knew would be most pleasing to him. These men included: Frederick Bird, Richard Favel, Thomas Anderson Sr., Peter Whitford, Henry House, Baptiste Demarais, John Inkster, Simon Whitford, William Garrioch, John Hodgson, John Anderson Sr., John Spence, John Garrioch, Charles Demarais, and Peter Garrioch.

Others who followed shortly after included: William Sutherland, William Gaddy, Charlotte Spence, James Whitford, Magnus House, Henry Anderson, David Cusitar, William McKay, Joseph Turner, David Bow, Allen McIvor, William Hodgson, James Frank, Gavin Garrioch, Henry House J r., Robert Inkster, Magnus Whitford, Wil­ liam Norn, John Dougal McKay, Peter Henderson, Robert Gunn, Thomas Bow, Alexander Gaddy, John James Setter, Malcolm Cum­ mings, Charles Cummings, Henry House Sr., Francis Whitford, Benjamin McKenzie, John Whitford, Joseph House, Philip Whitford, James Jonas, David Anderson and John Anderson Jr.


It could be said that the first council, one of representation, \V<lS established in 1864. Archdeacon Cochrane had done very well in keeping things in line up to this time;