This page is a text version of the Beckoning Hills History Book. This is the story of the Turtle Mountain Area of Manitoba. You can get a PDF copy of the book on our full version page. The PDF copy is an exact page by page representation of the original book. This text version has been reformated for the web and contains text recognition mistakes. These mistakes do not appear in the full version. The full version also includes each image in the original book.

Page Index of Beckoning Hills History Book

Previous - Page 60 or Next - Page 62




When Manitoba entered confederation in 1870, the boundaries were fixed by statute-on the East by the meridian of 96 degrees, on the West by the meridian of 99 degrees, on the South by the international boundary, and on the North by the parallel of 50 degrees, and thirty minutes North latitude. The Eastern boundary lay about 30 miles East of Winnipeg; the Western boundary about 20 miles West of Portage la Prairie and the Northern boundary lay about 120 miles North of the International Boundary. Manitoba was then the "Postage Stamp Province." The districts beyond these boundaries were still part of the North West Territories and there was no provision for any local government, for representation in the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, or in the Canadian House of Commons. In 1881 the Western boundary was located at its present position and the country West of Clearwater became part of the Province of Manitoba, and entitled to representation to the Legislature. On the extension of the boundary new electoral divi­ sions were formed and the constituency of Turtle Mountain consist­ ing of Townships 1 to 6, Ranges 13 to 29, came into being. Changes in its boundaries have been made from time to time, but Boissevain has at all times been the geographical and political centre of the constituency.

The first election in the constituency held in November 1881, with J. P. Alexander and J. C. Waugh as candidates, resulted as follows:

J. P. Alexander-C 102
J. C. Waugh-L 93

In the 1883 election Finlay M. Young entered on a long political career, defeating the former member, J. P. Alexander, 232 to 145. He was re-elected in 1886, when his opponent was George Morton, with a count of 503 to 378. In the elections of 1888 to 1892, John Hettle, as Liberal, defeated Dr. F. L. Schaffner, and in 1896 defeated William Miller, the vote being HettIe 464 and Miller 441. On the death of Mr. Hettle in 1897, a by-election was held in which the late James Johnson, later a Cabinet Minister and Speaker of the Legislature, made his appearance in the political field and fought the first of his se Ten elections. His opponent war; the late Thos. Nicol and the result was: