This page is a text version of the Beckoning Hills History Book. This is the story of the Turtle Mountain Area of Manitoba. You can get a PDF copy of the book on our full version page. The PDF copy is an exact page by page representation of the original book. This text version has been reformated for the web and contains text recognition mistakes. These mistakes do not appear in the full version. The full version also includes each image in the original book.

Page Index of Beckoning Hills History Book

Previous - Page 94 or Next - Page 96

D. Scott, W. Smith, A. Sutton, Geo. Smith, F. C. Stenhouse.

J. Talbot, Lillian Taylor, R. Thomas, G. Thompson B. Topping, D. Tuck, J. Turner, C. Turner, L. Tripp, S. Taylor.

A. R. Venables, T. L. Venables.

A. Waddell, M. Waddell, L. Wakefield, C. E. Walker, R. Welch, L. White, W. White, A. Wilson, J. Wilson, Joe Wilson, A. Willson, K. Wood, R. Wood, R. Wright, G. Wright, A. Wyman, E. Wyman, Ed. Wyman, H. Wyman, Herb. Wyman, H. Wilkinson, M. Wilkinson, J. B. Whitfield, E. C. Wheeler, R. R. Wheeler, R. H. Wark, W. J. Walker, D. A. Wilkinson, Leroy Wright, H. Wheeler.


Court Sylvan was instituted on March 22nd, 1887, Queen Vic­ toria's Jubilee year, and has carried on with various degrees of success from that date to this year 1956, the year of Boissevain's Jubilee Celebration.

The Charter members, whose names are given below, were, of course, pioneers of those early days who have, unfortunately, now passed to the "Great Beyond": Peter Robertson, Adam McAllister, James A. Wright, William Lambert, W. A. Brown, Hy. Chapman, W. J. Armstrong, W. A. Woodrow, S. A. Cornell, Fred D. Peters, A J. Cameron.

The presiding officers or "Chief Rangers" to 1900 were as follows: 1887 Fred D. Peters, 1888 Robert Cook, 1889 Dr. F. L. Schaffner, 1890 W. C. Cottingham, 1891 G. G. Richardson, 1892 James A. Wright, 1893 G. C. Currie, 1894 W. Woodrow, 1895 A. Mc­ Knight, 1896 G. C. Hill, 1897 J. Munroe, 1898 A. Venables, 1899 F. G. Fox, 1900 J. T. Elliott.

A distinctive feature of the Canadian Order of Foresters is its Life Insurance; every member has made some financial provision for those near relatives who may be left behind at his demise.

The sum of its activities might, perhaps be quoted in cold figures, suffice it to say its members have, throughout its 69 years, endeavoured to practise the principles of fraternity, bring help to the sick and comfort to the bereaved.

It might happily be noted in this year of Boissevain's Jubilee celebration that the Canadian Order of Foresters, through its head office in Brantford, Ontario, had a part to play in the installation of our waterworks system and purchased debentures to the extent of $25,000.


In the year 1956, which Boissevain is celebrating the seventy fifth anniversary of the coming of the pioneers to this community it is interesting to note that Doric Lodge is observing its seventieth anniversary.