This page is a text version of the History of Portage la Praire and Surrounding District. You can get a PDF copy of the book on our full version page. The PDF copy is an exact page by page representation of the original book. This text version has been reformated for the web and contains text recognition mistakes. These mistakes do not appear in the full version. The full version also includes each image in the original book.

Page Index of A History of Portage la Praire

Previous - Page 218 or Next - Page 220

Many of the happy memories of old-timers are centred around the various sports they participated in playing; and as it will likely be ever thus, we hope you will enjoy this section on -



Curling has been one of the leading winter sports in Portage Ia Prairie since the 1880s. From the first Manitoba Provincial Bonspiel in Winnipeg in 1889 up to the early 1900s Portage had more than its share of the best curlers in the province. Many trophies from the provincial bon spiel came here in that era, and enthusiasm for the game has continued with considerable success ever since.

An early curling rink in Portage was situated just north of Saskatchewan Ave. on the west side of Gaddy St. The next rink was located north of Duke Avenue, where the Columbus Hall now stands. The present site, also just north of Saskatchewan Ave. on Main St., affords excellent facilities with artificial ice.

Portagers who have won provincial fame in curling are: W. H.

Sparling and I W. Thompson (1890), W. H. Sparling and G. Bolton (1909), W. A. Sparling and W. Drummond (1912), who were the proud winners of the Tuckett Trophy. The William White Cup was won by W. L. Lyall in 1899. A. McKillop was the winner of the Grand Points Competition in 1903. The Purity Flour Challenge Cup was won in 1916 by W. H. Sparling. Two Portagers won the Ganong Trophy - S. M. MacDonald in 1931 and J. Wishart in 1949. The Alfred Doidge International Cup was won by W. H. Sparling in 1892, the Royal Caledonian Tankard by I. W. Thompson in 1900, the McMillan Cup by A. McKillop in 1909, the Free Press Trophy by S. M. MacDonald in 1930 and the Hudson's Bay Trophy by Don Brownridge in 1962.

In recent years one or two local rinks have done well in The British Consols playdowns, the winner of which represents the Province in the MacDonald Brier which establishes the Dominion Champion. In the year 1961 the Barry Greenslade rink was runner-up in a hard fought final of this competition.

A highlight in curling developed for Portage in 1932 when a rink, composed half of Portagers, won the Olympic Championship of the world at Lake Placid. The winning rink was: W. H. Burns - Skip (M.P. from Portage), Third - J. L. Bowman (M.P. original-