This page is a text version of the History of Portage la Praire and Surrounding District. You can get a PDF copy of the book on our full version page. The PDF copy is an exact page by page representation of the original book. This text version has been reformated for the web and contains text recognition mistakes. These mistakes do not appear in the full version. The full version also includes each image in the original book.

Page Index of A History of Portage la Praire

Previous - Page 238 or Next - Page 240

may not be very long before a team will once again be making headlines.

The most thrilling event in hockey history took place in 1941-1942 when the Portage Juniors won the Dominion Championship. Shown in the pictur-e here, they are, from left to right:

Front row: Don Campbell, Jack O'Reilly, Bill Heindl, Bud Ritchie, Lloyd Smith and Bryan Bell (mascot).

Second row: Executives Ed Calder, Sam Greene, Gordon Grigg; Bert Wynne (Vice-Pres.) Lindsay McDougall (Trainer), Jim W. Cook (executive) and James Hamilton (executive.)

Third row: Jack P. Bend (Manager), George Jones (Pres.), and Addie Bel! (Coach).

Back row: Bill Gooden, Wally Stefinew, Capt. J. McDonald, Gordon Bell, Joe Bell, Lin Bend and Bobby Love.


Hurray! for youth in open air,

With skates on feet, and ne'er a care But to drink deep of sporting lore,

With joy in every final score.

Win or lose, it must be fun,

From the moment that a game's begun, To skim o'er ice with speedy strides And be one of the team, besides!

Anne M. Collier